Close scoring at the top!

Ewan Young took full advantage of the perfect golf conditions at Nowra Golf Course on Sunday 17 January to lead home the field of 24 starters in the Shoalhaven Ex-Servicemens Social Golf Club’s first game of 2016.

Ewan scored a handy 40 points to edge out John Van Diejen, 39 points, and Judy Wakeford, 38 points for the major prize.

Derek Trusler, Charlie Hawkins and Murray Smith were all close behind on 37 points, and these were the only players to break their handicap. Derek’s 20 points on the back 9 was  good enough to take out that prize.

Mark McLellan had a good start to score 20 points on the front 9 to take out that prize, but faded on the back 9. That could have been due to watching his playing partner struggling!

Nearest the Pin ball winners were: 4th Mark McLellan, 8th Moto Parts on the Move voucher: Bob Pender, 12th Paul Kay and 16th Ewan Young.

The 9th hole longest drive winners were Judy Wakeford, Mark McLellan (A Grade) and Charlie Hawkins (B Grade).

John Van Diejen won the Stanley Johns Men’s Wear voucher for his drive and pitch on the 10th, while Judy Wakeford completed a fine day out taking out the ladies drive and pitch on the 17th.

All members of the Club welcome new player: Darrin Swain.

The next match is at Port Kembla Golf Course on Sunday 14th February. Please advise your intention to play to Captain Paul Kirk (0424 243 005).

Winner: Ewan Young 40 Pts
First Runner Up John Van Diejen 39 Pts
Second Runner Up: Judy Wakeford 38 Pts
Best of the Rest Front 9: Mark McLellan 20 Pts
Best of the Rest Back 9: Derek Trusler 20 Pts
NTP Shortest: 8th Bob Pender Moto Parts on the Move Voucher
NTP: 4th Mark McLellan
NTP: 12th Paul Kay
NTP: 16th Ewan Young
Birdie’s Nest: 4th N/A
Ladies Longest Drive: 9th Judy Wakeford
Men’s Longest Drive A Grade: 9th Mark McLellan
Men’s Longest Drive B Grade: 9th Charlie Hawkins
Ladies Drive and Pitch: 17th Judy Wakeford
Men’s Drive and Pitch: 10th John Van Diejen Stanley Johns Men’s Wear Voucher
Handicap Breakers: Charlie Hawkins, Derek Trusler, Murray Smith.