Ex-Servo’s Social Golf carve up Worrigee Links

Fine but overcast conditions welcomed the 26 Shoalhaven Ex-Servicemen’s Social Golf Club members at Worrigee Links golf course on Sunday 19 February 2017 to find the course in excellent condition. The weather and course conditions enabled some hot scoring.

Captain Paul Kirk lead the way home with an outstanding 47 points. The perennial bridesmaid, Charlie Hawkins was a close first runner up with 45 points with Shane Tobin a point further back was second runner up with 34, points.

The best of the rest on the front 9 went to Sonny Timberly with 24 points, while Derek Trusler scored 24 points on the back 9 to take out those prizes.

Nearest the Pin ball winners were: 6th Col Burgess, 8th hole went to peter Morgan; 12th hole – Eddie Edenborough and on the 17th John Van Diejen took home the prize. The 8th hole birdies nest winners were: Sandra Marshal, Peter Morgan and Sonny Timberly.

The Men’s Drive and Pitch on the 15th hole went to Henry Wakeford, who took home the Stanley Johns Men’s Wear voucher. The Ladies drive and pitch on the 2nd hole was taken out by Sandra Marshall.

The 18th hole longest drive winners were: Jenniffer Goodall (Ladies) and Henry Wakeford (B Grade). The A Grade Men longest drive was a monster drive from Michael Pearce.

In all, 15 players bettered their handicap for the day!

The Social Gold Club would like to welcome two new members: Sandra Marshall and Dragan Knezevic, and visitor Matt Kelly.

The Social Golfers would also like wish Judy Wakeford and Linda Trusler speedy recoveries form their injuries.

The next social golf match is at Port Kembla Golf Club on Sunday 19th March for a 0800 tee off.  Please advise your intention to play to Captain Paul Kirk (0424 243 005).

Winner:Paul Kirk47
First Runner UpCharlie Hawkins45
Second Runner Up:Shane Tobin44
Best of the Rest Front 9:Sonny Timberly24
Best of the Rest Back 9:Derek Trusler24
NTP: 6thCol Burgess 
NTP: (B) 8thPeter Morgan 
NTP: 12thEddy Edinborough 
NTP: 17thJohn Van Diejen 
Birdie’s Nest:Peter Morgan, Sandra Marshal, Sonny Timberly 
Ladies Longest Drive:Jenniffer Goodall 
Men’s Longest Drive A Grade:Michael Pearce 
Men’s Longest Drive B Grade:Henry Wakeford
Ladies Drive and Pitch:Sandra Marshal 
Men’s Drive and Pitch:Henry Wakeford 
Handicap Breakers:Col Burgess, Mike Knezevic, Sonny Timbelry, Derek Trusler, Murray Smith, Rick Marshall, John Van Diejen, Peter Harvey, Michael Pearce, Paul Kay, Henry Wakeford, Glenn Summerfield.