Results – Port Kembla 15/2/15

Todd Richter reigned on Port Kembla Golf Course on Sunday 15th February during the Shoalhaven Ex-Servicemen’s Social Golf Club monthly outing. Todd started solidly on the front nine, scoring 24 points. This run of form threatened to continue with 3 points scored on the first 2 holes of the back nine, before fading away and eventually ‘wiping’ the 18th hole for a totalĀ of 42 points. Todd’s round included 2 birdies.

Despite the fine, if humid, conditions, none of the other 17 players could match Todd, with the next best being new member Gary de Banke, with 39 points. The final prize winner was a resurgent Luke Bowden, making a comeback after a lengthy stint on the sidelines with a back injury. Luke hit a commendable 38 points, showing he has lost none of his considerable ability.

Gary de Banke also cleaned up the nearest the pin competitions, winning on the 3rd and 12th which included the Birdie’s Nest which was shared with Glenn Summerfield. Glenn also took home the MOTO Parts on the Move voucher for his effort on the 8th hole. Derek Trusler took home the Stanley Johns Men’s Wear voucher for his drive and pitch on the 7th hole (A-Grade), Derek also won the men’s long drive. Other winners were: Henry Wakeford (NTP 15th), Linda
Trusler (Ladies Long Drive 18th) and Todd Richter won the men’s long drive for B-Grade – not sure what happened here, winning the longest drive and then wiping the hole??

Peter Harvey had an up and down round, many good shots interspersed with many visits to the deep bunkers surrounding the greens. Peter’s frustration was made worse when playing partner President Judy hit her ball into a bunker only to have it rebound off the rake and out of the bunker. Judy then proceeded to ‘chip in’ from beside the bunker!

All members of the Club welcome new players: Gary de Banke, Paul Kay and Charlie Hawkins.
Winner – Todd Richter (42 points)
Runner up – Gary de Banke (39 points)
2nd Runner up – Luke Bowden (38 points)
Front 9 – Dave Suffolk (20 points)
Back 9 – Glenn Summerfield (20 points)
NTP Shortest – Glenn Summerfield (Moto Voucher winner)
NTP 3rd – Gary de Banke
NTP 12th – Gary de Banke
NTP 15th – Henry Wakeford
Men’s A L/Drive – Derek Trusler
Men’s B L/Drive – Todd Richter
Ladies L/Drive – Linda Trusler
Men’s D & P – Derek Trusler (Stanley Johns Menswear Voucher winner)
Ladies D & P – N/A
Birds Nest 12th – Glenn Summerfield/Gary de Banke

Handicapper’s Scalps (Break Handicap) N/A